Grade 3 Team

3rd grade team  
 
Welcome to Third Grade! Our teachers are Mrs. Coljohn, Miss Flama, Miss Maderka, Mrs. Santora and Mrs. Cingle.

Third grade is such an exciting year full of so many awesome learning experiences. The Parma City School District’s mission statement is to empower students to achieve their dreams and that is exactly what our team has focused on this year.

In each third grade classroom, we are focused on the four C’s including critical thinking, collaboration, communication and creativity. All of our students have shown great growth in their ability to incorporate technology and work with others in small groups.
 
Language Arts:
• Reading and comprehending third grade text
• Understanding and mastering many skills: main idea, character traits, sequencing, comparing and contrasting, cause and effect, fact and opinion, making generalizations, and identifying problems and solutions
• Focusing on writing for different amounts of time, for different purposes, and for different audiences
 
Math:
 
• Mastery of multiplication and division facts
• Measuring area and perimeter
• Measurement and graphs
• Two step story problems
• Understanding fractions
 
Social Studies:
• Government
• Economics
 
Science:
• Renewable and non-renewable resources
• Types of energy
• Reducing, reusing, and recycling
• States of matter
• Life cycles of plants and animals
 
Mrs. Erin Coljohn: coljohne@parmacityschools.org
Miss Nancy Flama: flaman@parmacityschools.org
Miss Sandy Maderka: maderkas@parmacityschools.org
Mrs. Christine Santora: santorac@parmacityschools.org
Mrs. Sandy Jindra: jindras@parmacityschools.org
Mrs. Lauren Snider: sniderl@parmacityschools.org
 
CLOSE